[Share] social networking scam- beware!
Abang Joe
abang.kenyalang at gmail.com
Tue Jul 6 16:39:09 MYT 2010
because your name appear twice.
----- Original Message -----
From: Moses Choo
To: Moses Choo ; vicky ; share at ncbm.org.my
Cc: share at ncbm.org.my
Sent: Tuesday, July 06, 2010 3:17 PM
Subject: Re: [Share] social networking scam- beware!
Dear all,
Some of you have tested and confirmed that we will hav to reply all when we reply to share. However, when I replied to Vicky, I selected all and I have received two copies of this mail.
Can anyone figure it out?
Regards,
Moses.
----- Original Message -----
From: Moses Choo
To: vicky ; share at ncbm.org.my
Cc: share at ncbm.org.my
Sent: Tuesday, July 06, 2010 2:23 PM
Subject: Re: [Share] social networking scam- beware!
Hi Vicky,
Frankly, I seldom respond to such invitation.
Regards,
Moses.
----- Original Message -----
From: vicky
To: share at ncbm.org.my
Cc: share at ncbm.org.my
Sent: Tuesday, July 06, 2010 10:42 AM
Subject: [Share] social networking scam- beware!
Last week I received an email from someone I interviewed sometime back inviting me to view his photos at a site called shtyle.fm. The email also stated the site also have games for members. Since this person is an old man, I got suspicious. I emailed him for confirmation of invite. At the same time I Google search about the website.
It turned out this website lure people to become members then used their contacts in their address book to send out invites. Yahoo answers said people who fell for the scam should adjust their settings to sent mails of this site to recycle bin and delete on exit option for short-term solution. Long-term solution to change email address!
A few months before this, I also received invite to another social networking site from someone I know. Later, this person deny sending any invites and said she did not know about an invite had been sent out to me.
Altogether I had received invites from three people to three different sites. So beware of such scams! Your address book can be compromised if you reply to the emails! In my case, I used a new email for verification with sender just in case there was a tracking cookie or other nasties in the 'invite email' and did a full scan of my computer just to play safe. So beware of rogue websites using this scam!
http://jumblebox.webs.com/
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
_______________________________________________
Share mailing list
Share at ncbm.org.my
http://lists.ncbm.org.my/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/share
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
_______________________________________________
Share mailing list
Share at ncbm.org.my
http://lists.ncbm.org.my/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/share
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
_______________________________________________
Share mailing list
Share at ncbm.org.my
http://lists.ncbm.org.my/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/share
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.ncbm.org.my/pipermail/share/attachments/20100706/6f5362e3/attachment.htm
More information about the Share
mailing list