[Share] social networking scam- beware!

vicky 1cankhan at gmail.com
Tue Jul 6 10:42:46 MYT 2010


 

Last week I received an email from someone I interviewed sometime back inviting me to view his photos at a site called shtyle.fm. The email also stated the site also have games for members. Since this person is an old man, I got suspicious. I emailed him for confirmation of invite. At the same time I Google search about the website.

 

It turned out this website lure people to become members then used their contacts in their address book to send out invites. Yahoo answers said people who fell for the scam should adjust their settings to sent mails of this site to recycle bin and delete on exit option for short-term solution. Long-term solution to change email address! 



A few months before this, I also received invite to another social networking site from someone I know. Later, this person deny sending any invites and said she did not know about an invite had been sent out to me.

Altogether I had received invites from three people to three different sites. So beware of such scams! Your address book can be compromised if you reply to the emails! In my case, I used a new email for verification with sender just in case there was a tracking cookie or other nasties in the 'invite email' and did a full scan of my computer just to play safe. So beware of rogue websites using this scam!

 

 

http://jumblebox.webs.com/
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.ncbm.org.my/pipermail/share/attachments/20100706/04121d1f/attachment-0001.htm 


More information about the Share mailing list